AFRL researcher Matthew Duquette
At the AFRL Air Vehicles Directorate 43rd Annual Awards Luncheon, Matthew Duquette was honored with Courtland D. Perkins award for his development of a simulation framework supporting cooperative control systems for unmanned aerial vehicles. (U.S. Air Force photo)
Air Vehicles Directorate honors annual award winners

by Holly Jordan
AFRL Air Vehicles Directorate

3/3/2009 - WRIGHT-PATTERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Ohio  -- The Air Force Research Laboratory Air Vehicles Directorate here honored its own at the 43rd annual awards luncheon, held February 11, 2009, at the Crowne Plaza in downtown Dayton.

The theme for the event was "Changing the face of technology: Yesterday, Today, Tomorrow." Guests were surrounded by visual reminders of Air Vehicles innovations throughout the years.

The featured guest speaker for the event was Richard P. Hallion, retired Headquarters Air Force Senior Advisor for Air and Space Issues. He spoke to the crowd about the many challenges the Air Force has faced throughout the years and the efforts that will be necessary in the coming decades.

Air Vehicles Structures Division Chief John Bowlus served as the master of ceremonies. Col John B. Wissler, director of the Air Vehicles Directorate, and Dr. Donald Paul, Air Vehicles Chief Scientist, presented the awards.

The highlight of the event was the presentation of the directorate's top two awards, the Courtland D. Perkins in-house engineering award and the Benjamin D. Foulois award for significant contributions to aerospace technology.

The Courtland D. Perkins award was presented to Matthew Duquette for his development of a simulation framework that facilitated the development, demonstration, and analysis of cooperative control systems for unmanned aerial vehicles.

The Benjamin D. Foulois award was presented to the team of Dr. Jose Camberos and Dr. David Moorhouse for their development of exergy-based methods for systems integration, analysis, and design of aerospace vehicles.

Other awards presented were as follows:

Doris C. Mooney Award -- Suzie Delong
Co-op Student of the Year -- Marshall Galbraith
STEP Student of the Year -- Jill Price
Mission Support Award for S&E -- Larry Byram
Mission Support Award for non-S&E -- Linda Schwartz
Mission Support Award (Team) -- Marketing Team: Cari Boos, Justin Earley, Holly Jordan
Supervisory Award -- Andrew Sparks
Persistence Award -- Douglas Wetzel
Scientific/Technical Management Award -- Heidi Wilkin
Senior Scientific/Technical Management Award -- David Homan
Leadership Award -- Capt Matthew Burkinshaw
Senior Leadership Award -- James Myatt
Director's Award (Individual) -- Michael Gran
Director's Award (Team) -- Computer Science Team: Datta Gaitonde, Jonathan Poggie, Eswar Josyula, Miguel Visbal, Raymond Gordnier, Donald Rizzetta
Spirit Award -- Brian Hager
Special Director's Award -- Ashley Kelly