An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Airmen nominated for Lance P. Sijan award

  • Published
  • By Caroline Clauson
  • 88th Air Base Wing Public Affairs

WRIGHT-PATTERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Ohio – The 88th Air Base Wing Staff Agencies nominated four Airmen to compete at the wing level for the Lance P. Sijan U.S. Air Force Leadership Award, an affirmation of their excellent professional and community examples.

“It is with great honor to recognize some of the great leaders within the Wing Staff Agencies,” said Lt. Col. Joshua Wolfram, 88th Comptroller Squadron commander and director of staff for the 88th Air Base Wing.

WSA nominees who will compete for each award category are:

Junior Enlisted: Senior Airman Lisa Clamor (88 CPTS)

Senior Enlisted: Master Sgt. Christin Foley (Air Force Band of Flight)

Junior Officer: 2nd Lt. Hannah Murray (88 CPTS)

Senior Officer: Maj. Gordon Randall (88 CPTS)

Winner of the 88 ABW nomination will advance to major command and then Air Force levels. Air Force-wide winners are authorized to wear the Air Force Recognition Ribbon.

To receive a Sijan award nomination, Airmen must meet ambitious criteria in professional leadership, image and community involvement. Nominees demonstrate exceptional leadership in accomplishing the Air Force mission, inspire others through conduct and extend their service to the greater community.

“Again, a huge congratulations to you all for your leadership, dedication and accomplishments. It is just another reminder how awesome Team WSA is and how well we support and represent the 88th and Team Wright-Patt,” Wolfram said.

The Lance P. Sijan U.S. Air Force Leadership Award is named in honor of Capt. Lance P. Sijan, an Air Force Academy graduate and combat pilot. He was shot down over North Vietnam in November 1967 but evaded capture for six weeks, despite severe wounds. Sijan, who later died in a prisoner-of-war camp, was posthumously awarded the Medal of Honor for his intrepidity, bravery and courage while evading capture and during his subsequent captivity.

The prestigious award recognizes the accomplishments of officers and enlisted leaders who demonstrate the highest qualities of leadership in duty performance and conduct of their lives.