88th Air Base Wing announces 2022 annual award winners

  • Published
  • By Sarah Amato
  • 88th Air Base Wing Public Affairs

WRIGHT-PATTERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Ohio –The 88th Air Base Wing’s 2022 award winners were announced during a ceremony Jan. 27 at the Wright-Patt Club.

Col. Christopher Meeker, 88 ABW commander; Chief Master Sgt. Lloyd Morales, the wing’s command chief, and other base leaders hosted a spirited, music-filled event in the Grande Ballroom.

Meeker highlighted the passion and energy that both military and civilian Airmen have for their positions.

“(This is) just one of the proudest days of my career, and thank you all for being part of my team,” he said. “I feel blessed every day to be your wingman.”

Many Airmen and civilians wore sports jerseys – authorized for the annual event as an alternate-duty location. Personnel within 88 ABW also broke out into group, unit and organization chants as nominees and winners were revealed.

“The great news is that today, we get to we get to recognize some amazing top performers and top teams that have been doing amazing things for the last year,” Morales said. “I’ll tell you that the competition was stiff. So individually, just like a football game, it was by the inch to see who was going to be the one on top.”

There were 13 award categories. Individual and team winners now go on to compete at the Air Force Life Cycle Management Center’s annual awards.

To get a closer look at the nominees, check out this video: 

VIDEO | 09:50 | 88th Air Base Wing Annual Awards Nominees - 2022

This year’s winners are in bold (with an asterisk):

Airman of the Year
Senior Airman Chase Teates – 88th Civil Engineer Group
Senior Airman Sabrina Matos – 88th Medical Group
*Senior Airman James Sykora– 88th Mission Support Group
Senior Airman Taylor McAfee –Wing Staff Agencies

NCO of the Year
Tech. Sgt. Justin Gardner – 88 CEG
Tech. Sgt. Thomas Kent – 88 MDG
*Tech. Sgt. Olivia Riggar – 88 MSG
Tech. Sgt. Ashley Jones– WSA

Senior NCO of the Year
Master Sgt. Kurtis Stadsvold – 88 CEG
Master Sgt. Miranda Oliver – 88 MDG
Master Sgt. Joseph McDowell – 88 MSG
*Master Sgt. Jacqueline Salmon – WSA

First Sergeant of the Year
Master Sgt. Matthew Adelman – 88 MDG
*Master Sgt. Sean Loveland – 88 MSG
Master Sgt. Jason Feichter – WSA

Company Grade Officer of the Year
Capt. Justine Seymour – 88 MDG
1st Lt. Joseph Countain – 88 MSG
*Capt. Elizabeth Andrade – WSA

Field Grade Officer of the Year
*Maj. Andrew Berglund – 88 MDG
Maj. Hollis Troxell – WSA

Company Grade Officer -  Individual Mobilization Augmentee of the Year
*Capt. Albert Hayes (WSA)

Field Grade Officer -  Individual Mobilization Augmentee of the Year
*Maj. Brittany Musleve (WSA)

Category I Civilian of the Year
Shaun Bigler – 88 CEG
Lauri Saturley – 88 MDG
*Christian Smith – 88 MSG
Kelli Lowe – WSA

Category II Civilian of the Year
Dustin Moore – 88 CEG
Christy Carr – 88 MDG
Kent Schifferly – 88 MSG
*Shawn Fraley – WSA

Category III Civilian of the Year
Christine Yankel – 88 CEG
Teresa Soulati – 88 MDG
*Raymond Direito – 88 MSG
Christopher Warner – WSA

Large Team of the Year
Energy Resilience Readiness Exercise – 88 CEG
Mental Health Flight – 88 MDG
*Plans & Programs (88th Security Forces Squadron) – 88 MSG
Staff Judge Advocate Office – WSA

Small Team of the Year
Space Utilization Rate Improvement Team – 88 CEG
Dental Laboratory Flight – 88 MDG
CS Wing Cybersecurity Team – 88 MSG
*Protocol – WSA

Honor Guard Member of the Year
Staff Sgt. Devin Copeland – 445th Airlift Wing
*Senior Airman Tamorris Luster – 88 MDG
Staff Sgt. Matthew Metcalf – 88 MSG

Squadron of the Year
88th Surgical Operations Squadron – 88 MDG
88 SFS – 88 MSG
*88th Operations Support Squadron – WSA