AFRL Researchers Recognized for Exceptional STEM Contributions

WRIGHT-PATTERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Ohio -- Five Air Force Research Laboratory researchers are being honored for their efforts in the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM). The Air Force STEM Awards recognize Scientists and Engineers who make noteworthy contributions to technology and engineering, solving technical problems in development, sustainment, testing, training, or advancement of Air Force systems.

In response to announcement of the awards, Maj Gen Thomas Masiello said, "We are proud to see these exceptional individuals, whose continual efforts in the lab provide innovative contributions to our warfighting technologies, be recognized among their peers on a national level for their achievements in STEM research."

The 2015 STEM Award winners are:

--Maj. Lorraine M. Walowsky, an avid runner whose work as the Chief of Rapid Technology integration within the AFRL Sensors Directorate earned the Air Force Outstanding Scientist Award in the Senior Military category.

--Capt. Donald A. Barrett who notes he is "incredibly lucky to work with an amazing team" is presented the Dr. Paul G. Kaminski Most Promising Systems Engineer of the Year Award for his efforts in leading multiple successful demonstration programs, including Blue Devil, Blue Guardian, and Project SHEPHERD.

--Mr. Todd R. Jenkins who leads various teams of engineers in developing sensor data exploitation technologies is being honored with the Air Force Outstanding Scientist Award in the category of Research Management.

--Dr. Juan R. Vasquez who takes the Air Force Science and Engineering Award in Engineering Achievement for his contributions in target detection and tracking for the Layering Sensing Exploitation Division of the Sensors Directorate.

--Mr. Jamie L. Hoff, AFRL Materials & Manufacturing Directorate, whose leadership in the strategy, planning, and execution of the Air Force ManTech Transparent Ceramics roadmap along with several other successful materials and manufacturing programs earns him the Air Force Manufacturing Technology Award.