AFMC Airmen, teams among AFMS 2016 annual award winners

  • Published
WRIGHT-PATTERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Ohio -- Nine Air Force Materiel Command Airmen and two AFMC teams were among the winners of the 2016 Air Force Medical Service annual awards recently announced by the Air Force Surgeon General.

The nominations submitted reflect the extraordinary quality of the Airmen in the Air Force Medical Service. The accomplishments of those recognized demonstrate expertise, leadership and commitment across the full breadth of the support provided to the Air Force mission and the Joint Team.

All accomplishments were enabled by the hard work and support of their wingmen, consisting of fellow medical professionals at every level.

AFMC winners include the following:


USAF Biomedical Category III Officer of the Year
Maj. Danny Dacey
711 HPW/USAFSAM, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base

USAF Dental Educator of the Year
Capt. Patrick Galloway
96 DS/SGDD, Eglin AFB

USAF Biomedical Equipment Repair NCO of the Year
Staff Sgt. Joseph McPherson
711 HPW/OML, Wright-Patterson AFB

USAF Cardiopulmonary Laboratory Airman of the Year
Senior Airman Joshua O’Sullivan
88 MDOS/SGOM, Wright-Patterson AFB

USAF Cardiopulmonary Laboratory NCO of the Year
Tech. Sgt. Jensen De Nijs
711 HPW/USAFSAM/ETS, Wright-Patterson AFB

USAF Aerospace and Operational Physiology NCO of the Year
Tech. Sgt. Omar Robinson

USAF Pharmacy Technician Airman of the Year
Senior Airman Brandon Solomon
88 DTS/SGQP, Wright-Patterson AFB

USAF Medical Service SNCO Leadership Award
Senior Master Sgt. Alan Weary
88 MDG/SGSM, Wright-Patterson AFB

USAF Privileged Advanced Practice Nurse Award
Maj. Gregory Wierzbicki


USAF Biomedical Sciences Corps Large Team Award
711th Human Performance Wing/USAFSAM-Public Health/Lab Zika Response Team
711 HPW/USAFSAM, Wright-Patterson AFB

USAF Surgeon General Award for Hospital of the Year
96th Medical Group
96 MDG, Eglin AFB