News Search

Category: AFOSR Highlights
  • AFOSR and Australia partner to enhance global enabling technologies

    The Air Force Research Laboratory's basic research directorate, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) hosted the Enabling Technologies Technical Exchange Meeting from May 11-14, 2015 at the Basic Research Innovation and Collaboration Center, Arlington, Va. Jointly organized with the Australian National Fabrication Facility (ANFF), the
  • AFOSR Study Evaluates Trust in Autonomous Systems

    A case study funded by the Air Force Research Laboratory's (AFRL) basic research directorate, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, has quickly transitioned to AFRL's Human Performance Directorate (AFRL/RH), where researchers are now using it in the field to examine how pilots respond to a new form of flight autonomy.In collaboration with
  • It's #Awards Season for AFOSR-funded researchers

    As the vital basic research component of the Air Force Research Laboratory, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) has been funding award-winning researchers from around the world for over six decades and each year more accolades are added to that list.Over the past few months, researchers from across AFOSR's broad portfolio have been
  • AFOSR awards grants to 57 scientists and engineers through its Young Investigator Research Program

    The Air Force Office of Scientific Research today announced that it will award approximately $16.6 million in grants to 57 scientists and engineers from 43 research institutions and small businesses who submitted winning research proposals through the Air Force's Young Investigator Research Program (YIP).The YIP is open to scientists and engineers
  • AFOSR, NIH and NASA collaborate with Australia to advance basic research

    As part of a new international partnership, Australian scientists are now participating in research efforts of the U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory at AFRL sites and affiliated universities around the U.S.The exchange effort aims to create and strengthen relationships between scientific communities in the United States and Australia and comes as
  • AFOSR continues legacy of Nobel Prize-winning research

    The Air Force Office of Scientific Research will add four winners to its illustrious list following the Nobel Foundation's announcements of the 2014 laureates for Physics and Chemistry on Oct. 7 and 8.AFOSR has contributed basic research funding to 78 Nobel laureates over the past 60 years.  On average, these laureates receive AFOSR funding 17
  • Air Force takes table-top approach to quantum physics

    Air Force Research Laboratory scientists can now study the mysteries of quantum physics in house and at a lower cost, thanks to a new high performance table-top quantum computing system.With funding in part from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) and the DoD High Performance Computing Modernization Program, cold-atom technology
  • AFOSR welcomes new director, Dr. Thomas F. Christian

    The Air Force Research Laboratory announced the appointment of a new director at the Air Force Office of Scientific Research in Arlington, Va.  Dr. Thomas F. Christian will join AFOSR as the 24th director of the agency, which boasts a 63-year history of continuously funding breakthrough basic research for the long-term benefit of the United States
  • AFOSR explores basic research collaboration with South Africa

    The Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR), Department of State, Office of the Secretary of Defense, Army Research Laboratory, Naval Research Laboratory, and the Republic of South Africa Department of Science and Technology, recently organized a technical exchange meeting in Arlington, Va., with the objective of exploring basic research
  • 711 HPW Engineer Wins IEEE Award for Achievement in Bio-Engineering

    Lt. Col. David Sonntag of the 711th Human Performance Wing, U.S. Air Force School of Aerospace Medicine has been awarded the 2014 Fritz J. Russ Award for Achievement in Bioengineering by the Dayton chapter of the Institute of Electronic and Electronics Engineers. The IEEE presents this award every year to an individual who has made significant