AFRL and Central State University equipping future researchers for success

WRIGHT-PATTERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Ohio -- The Air Force Research Laboratory, Central State University, and Universal Technology Corporation recently cut the ribbon for the new Additive Manufacturing Laboratory, a facility that promises to equip future materials researchers as well as provide collaborative opportunities for researchers at Wright-Patterson AFB.

The new laboratory makes CSU the first university in the Dayton region with metal additive manufacturing (also known as 3-D printing) capability.  The lab was given a boost from a state grant awarded to CSU for the purchase of a new Direct Metal Laser Sintering machine.  This cutting-edge machine enables additive manufacturing of engine components, tooling, prototypes, design iterations and production parts.

CSU's current research effort through the AFRL Minority Leaders-Research Collaboration Program is titled "Characterization of Direct Metal Laser Sintering Additive Manufacturing Parts."  Through this research effort, AFRL will work with CSU students and staff to further AFRL's efforts in advancing the manufacturing readiness of additive manufacturing and developing familiarity with the necessary equipment. 

According to Ms. Asheley Blackford, AFRL ML-RCP Program Manager, the goal behind this collaboration is to benefit not only AFRL, but other government agencies, universities, and industry, opening new doors to work with CSU students and staffers.

"This collaborative effort is a win-win.  CSU adds a new capability to their engineering program, and young, talented engineers will hopefully become interested in an exciting new technology and look toward a career path with AFRL," Blackford said. 

Over 50 attendees participated in the ribbon cutting ceremony, including Dr. Charles Wesley Ford, Jr. (CSU Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs), Dr. Lovette Chinwah-Adegbola (CSU Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs), Dr. Adedeji Badiru (Dean, Air Force Institute of Technology Graduate School of Engineering and Management), Mr. Joe Sciabica (President, Universal Technology Corporation), Dr. Subramania Sritharan (Dean, CSU College of Science and Engineering), and Dr. Charles Browning (Chair, University of Dayton Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering).

For more information on the AFRL Minority Leaders-Research Collaboration Program, contact Ms. Asheley Blackford at