AFRL researcher named International Society for Optics and Photonics fellow

WRIGHT-PATTERSON AIR FORCE BASE, Ohio -- A pronounced research leader from the Air Force Research Laboratory was recently selected as a fellow of The International Society for Optics and Photonics (SPIE).


Dr. Dean Evans, Advanced Development Team Leader of the Photonic Materials Branch, Functional Materials Division, Materials and Manufacturing Directorate, AFRL, will be indoctrinated into the fellowship later this year.


Evans is recognized for the fellowship based on his pioneering research and deep involvement in photorefractive materials and devices. Photorefractive materials can be used for beam coupling, where the energy from one laser beam is coupled into another. When referencing literature on photorefractive materials, it is evident that Evans is among renowned authors on the subject throughout the world.


Dr. James Grote, principal electronics research engineer of the Soft Matter Materials Branch, said that he nominated Dr. Evans for his outstanding scientific accomplishments and leadership in photonics, particularly nonlinear optical effects.


“He is internationally recognized for his contributions,” said Grote. “His generous support and dedication to SPIE and the optics community through conference organization, presenting papers and mentoring young professionals and students is a strong factor.”


Evans received his Bachelor of Science degree in physics from The Citadel and his Master of Science and Doctoral of Science degrees in physics from the University of Georgia. He joined the Air Force Research Laboratory as a post-doctoral in 2000 and joined the government in 2002.


“I am extremely grateful to have been nominated and selected for the Fellow award,” said Evans.  “I am proud to be associated with such an elite group of professionals who work together as a team.”


The International Society for Optics and Photonics was founded in 1955 to advance light-based technologies. The SPIE awards program serves to recognize outstanding contributions from individuals throughout the scientific community. Fellows are members of distinction who have made significant scientific and technical contributions in the multidisciplinary fields of optics, photonics, and imaging. They are honored for their technical achievement, for their service to the general optics community, and to SPIE in particular. This year, the Fellows Committee awarded the status of Fellow to 71 SPIE members.


The Materials and Manufacturing Directorate celebrates its 100 year anniversary in 2017. Evans’ achievement is added to the immense list of accomplishments for this organization.